Computer Memory Units Learn Free

Computer memory units

Computer Memory Units


Primary Memory

Secondary Memory

Types of Computer Memory

Memory is the storage capacity of a computer. Computer memory is capable of storing information temporarily or Permanently.

Computer memory is classified into two types:

Primary Memory

Secondary Memory

Primary memory

It is the main memory, which is predefined in a computer, it is where the data, instruction, and information are stored while a computer function. However, it has a limited storage capacity and can be directly accessed by the CPU. Primary memory is also known as Internal memory.

Primary memory is of two types:

Random Access Memory (RAM)

Read Only Memory (ROM)

Random Access Memory

RAM stores the data, instructions, and information temporality. When you turn OFF the computer, the information and data stored in this memory is lost. When a computer starts, the operating system begins loading into RAM.

Any software that runs on a computer also gets loaded into RAM. It is called Random Access Memory, for CPU access the memory in a random manner. It is also called read and read and write memory because information can be read from it, and the data also be written or stored on it. Ram is a volatile memory, which means it loses its data once power is turned OFF.

Read Only Memory

It is a type of memory from which you can only read the information stored in it, but cannot be changed. The information is permanently stored in it, Data and instructions stored in ROM are not lost even when the power is turned OFF. Therefore, it is known as non-volatile memory.


The different types of ROM are as follows

Secondary Memory

Primary memory has limited capacity. So, you need some additional storage devices to stores the data. These storage devices are called Secondary memory. Secondary memory is also known as External or Auxiliary memory. The data stored in the external memory is not lost even when the computer is turned OFF.

The CPU cannot access it directly because it is an external memory. The contents of secondary memory are first transferred memory is slower than primary memory. Secondary memory is non-volatile in nature. Some examples of secondary storage devices are hard disk, Flash Drive and Memory card.

Computer memory features

Computer memory is a special type of technology used to store or hold computer data and information. It makes possible tasks related to data such as running programs, handling files, networking and internet browsing etc.

To hold the data, there are many types of computer memory such as RAM, ROM, Cache Memory, Virtual Memory etc. These memory types are used to run computer programs and perform operations related to data.

For example, RAM (Random Access Memory) is a computer’s storage area in which the computer stores data and programs that can be operated upon. Moreover, Virtual Memory allows to store more data for the users which makes it more useful to the users.

Thus, computer memory enables users to operate data and programs.

Types of computer memory

There are many types of computer memory. These can be mainly classified into two categories: Primary Memory and Secondary Memory.

Primary Memory:

Primary memory, also known as volatile memory, is the memory used directly by the user of the computer. In this the data is stored permanently as long as the computer is on. Following are the main types of primary memory:

Random Access Memory (RAM)

Read-Only Memory (ROM)

Cache Memory

Secondary Memory:

Secondary memory, also called non-volatile memory, is memory used to permanently store past or future information on a computer. Following are the main types of secondary memory:

Random access memory

Random Access Memory (RAM) is a major type of computer memory which is the permanent memory used in the computer. RAM is a volatile memory, which means that the data stored in it can be saved as long as the computer is on. When the computer is turned off, the data stored in RAM is permanently deleted.

Data is stored in RAM to run web pages, applications, or operating systems. This memory is very fast compared to other memory types and has a huge impact on the performance of the computer.

A RAM chip consists of many small cells called a byte or word. These bytes or words can be read or written one by one, that is why it is called as Random-Access Memory. RAM reads and writes data quickly, increasing the performance of the computer.

Read only memory

Read-Only Memory (ROM) is a type of computer memory in which the stored data can only be read and cannot be written. It is basically used to operate the software, firmware and operating system used in the computer system.

The data that is created in ROM memory is stored there permanently and cannot be written at any time. Therefore, this memory is extremely useful for keeping the information used in the computer system safe.

ROM memory uses electronic processes to make data available that cannot be written to by humans. Therefore, ROM memory is also often called “mass memory”.

In addition, there are also different types of ROM such as PROM (Programmable Read-Only Memory), EPROM (Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory), and EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory), which store data permanently. collecting tax

(Memory Units)

There are different quantitative units for computer memory. The following are memory units:

Bit: Bit is the smallest unit of a digital signal that can only be in the state of 0 or 1.

Byte: A byte is usually a group of 8 bits that represent a single character, symbol, or other data.

Kilobyte (KB): Kilobyte is a measure of the number of bytes,

Which is approximately 1024 bytes.

Megabyte (MB): A megabyte is a measure of the number of kilobytes.

Which is about 1024 kilobytes.

Gigabyte (GB): A gigabyte is a measure of the number of megabytes,

Which is about 1024 megabytes.

Terabyte (TB): A terabyte is a measure of the number of gigabytes,

Which is about 1024 gigabytes.

Petabyte (PB): A petabyte is a measure of the number of terabytes,

Which is about 1024 Terabytes.

Exabyte (EB): Exabyte

Computer Memory Units

8 Bits1 Byte
1024 Bytes1 Kilobyte (KB)
1024 KB1 Megabyte (MB)
1024 MB1 Gigabyte (GB)
1024 GB1 Terabyte (TB)
1024 TB1 Petabyte (PB)
1024 PB1 Exabyte (EB)
1024 EB1 Zettabyte (ZB)
1024 ZB1 Yottabyte (YB)


Leave a Reply